How Can We Help?

How to stop syncing document libraries in OneDrive

You are here:
< All Topics

If you’ve synced Microsoft OneDrive for work or school or a SharePoint site library to folders on your computer, you can stop syncing these folders at any time. When you stop syncing a folder, you disconnect the folder on your computer from the library on the server. You can always sync the library to your computer again.

If you want to stop syncing a file or folder, follow these steps:

  1. Click on a little blue cloud icon on taskbar.
  1. From the pop-up that appears, click Help & Settings.
  1. Another pop-up will appear, from there click Settings.
  1. Under the Account tab, click Stop sync.
  1. Clicking Stop sync will prompt to unlink OneDrive account and could remove files saved on PC.
  1. To select a folder to un-sync, click Choose folder.
  1. Click OK. All files that are already saved on the PC will be deleted.

How to delete the folder from windows explorer

Un-synced folder will still show on windows explorer but with red “x” mark.

  1. Right-click the folder then click Delete.
  1. Click OK to confirm.

Sources:
How to stop sync of a SharePoint Document Library
Stop syncing a library with the OneDrive for work or school app

[arrow_forms id="12763"]
Was this article helpful?
4.5 out Of 5 Stars

1 rating

5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
5
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Table of Contents