How Can We Help?

How to delete a previous version of an item or file in SharePoint

You are here:
< All Topics

If your SharePoint lists or libraries are set to track versions, then you can delete a previous version, all versions, or just minor versions of an item or file.

Here’s how to delete previous versions of item or files in SharePoint:

  1. Go to the list or library for which you want to delete a previous version.
    If the name of your list or library does not appear, in the left navigation, select Site contents, and then select the name of your list or library.
  2. Right click on the space between the item or document name and date, and from the menu, select Version History. To see Version History, you may need to scroll the menu.
    If you don’t see Version History in the dialog, select the ellipsis (), and then select Version History.
    A list of versions of the file appears.
  1. In the version History dialog, hover next to the version you want, and to get a list of options, on the right side, select the down arrow. Select Delete.
  1. To delete the version, select OK.

Source:
Delete a previous version of an item or file in SharePoint

[arrow_forms id="12763"]
Was this article helpful?
0.8 out Of 5 Stars

4 ratings

5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 100%
5
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Table of Contents